Popular Articles :

Stages of lymphedema

Different stages of lymphedema:

A lymphedema develops rare overnight because of the body's ability to compensate. Accumulation of protein-rich fluid leads to increased growth of connective tissue. In medicine this is called fibrotisering. The tissue is soft at first, but harden after a while. The fibrosis that occurs in the subcutaneous tissue and the untreated lymphoedema, also recalls a chronic inflammation (inflammation). As lymphoedema worse, the skin becomes increasingly idealistic principles resistant to bacterial attack. This can cause a skin infection called erysipelas (erysipelas)

early stages of lymphedema

Clinical stages:

Grade 0 Latent stage. It is reduced lymph vessel's function, but there is no sign of disease (visible lymphedema)

Grade 1 Reversible stage. Edema is soft and pits on pressure setting (pitting). Edema The amount varies depending on the rest, activity and limb position.

Grade 2 Spontaneously irreversible stage. Edema is firmer and varies less with rent change. There are no pits on pressure. There is a fibrosis and the skin becomes gradually thickened and pale.

stage three Elephantiasis. Edema is usually large. The limb will have a characteristic appearance. The skin is firm and wrinkled, thickened and resembles elephanthud.

Alerts: If you want to know more fresh update helpful articles enter your email address below and be notified by mail.

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner